Mopar or no car? Well, sadly, it's gonna be no car.

not a charger

Well, at least I didn't have to make the decision to sell or keep the Scamp. The decision was made for me. My mom and dad gave the rest of our family some truly awful, life-changing news on Wednesday night. As a result, the Scamp has to go.

I'm beginning to think that following everyone's advice to let it sit for a while would've worked, and my interest would've sparked again, but it doesn't matter.

I'm the oldest of 4, and the only boy. My sisters are looking to me for answers, and looking to me to lead our family through what is going to be an almost unbearable time. My parents are going to need lots of help, and possibly money, though the time committment they'll need is the reason I'm selling the car. I simply will not have any time to use it or enjoy it.

I'm 33 years old, and dammit, I'm not ready for this. I'm still learning how to be a good husband and father. Now, I've got to help out my folks, and be the head of the family. My sisters are all basket cases right now. My mom and dad can barely function. I almost cut a finger off at work yesterday because I was so friggin' distracted. I haven't slept in 2 days.

This sucks, and it's only going to get worse. I don't need this, and I don't want it...but none of that matters. This is the role I've been given, and it's one that I'll fulfill. The scariest thing is that, when it comes to handling the events that are bound to occur, I'm going to be the primary decision maker. My family will expect me to take the lead, and needs me to be right when I make a decision. There is no margin for error. I can't make any mistakes. I'm scared to death, but I can't show it, because they need me to be the rock.

Sometimes, you have to do what you have to do, and not what you want to do. I'm going to be in that boat for quite a while, starting with selling my car.